The IATE term of the week is “UNASUR”


This week we have chosen the term “UNASUR”, following the news that foreign ministers of South America’s 12-nation union have condemned Britain’s alleged threat to forcibly enter the Ecuadorean embassy in London and arrest the WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange. Read more on this

Definition: intergovernmental union integrating two existing customs unions: Mercosur and the Andean Community of Nations, as part of a continuing process of South American integration.

Member countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.